Fri, Apr 09 | YouTube

Digital Dream

The University of British Columbia Theatre and Film present their first-ever live-stream production, a mixed reality experience where traditional stage play meets technology.
Registration is Closed
Digital Dream

Time & Location

Apr 09, 10:00 PM – 11:30 PM EDT
YouTube

About the Event

Artists: UBC Theatre and Film, Patrick Pennefather, Tom Scholte

Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Date: Friday, April 9th, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm PDT | 10:00 pm EDT | 4:00 am CEST (April 10th) | 6:30 am IRST (April 10th)

Event Access: YouTube

Digital Dream Play is a response to Swedish playwright August Strindberg’s A Dream Play, first performed in Stockholm in 1907. In the play's description characters “split, double, multiply, evaporate, condense, dissolve and merge”, provoking us to experiment with the potential of off-the-shelf streaming technologies to co-locate actors virtually whose physical proximity is constrained due to social distancing during a pandemic. In our mixed reality experience, live actors surrounded by walls of green screens on a theatre stage transport audiences to dream-like virtual environments. This production is an innovative proposition to the question: “How can technology support theatre-making during a pandemic and how might this influence future audience experiences?” Early and persistent experimentation in the theatre space with cameras, lighting, open source software, virtual scenes, keyframing, sound and operation enhance/extend a typical theatrical production process. “Everything can happen; everything is possible and likely.”

Join the behind-the-scenes technical Q&A at 6:00pm EDT / 3:00pm PDT here. Scroll to the registration section, select the Friday, April 9th date, and check the "Yes" box for the live Q&A session.

Credits:

Writer: August Strindberg, Director: Tom Scholte, Technologist: Patrick Pennefather, Scenic Designer: Jane Li, Lighting Designer: Sandy Park, Sound Designer: Shiori Hatamoto,  Production Manager: Borja Brown, Virtual Stage Production Manager: Elyse Wall, Stage Management: Rachel Wong, Cat Main, Finnley O'Brien, Assistant Director: Tanya Mathivanan, Assistant Scenic Designer: Roohi Kamal, Assistant Lighting Designer Lauren McLean, Assistant Sound Designers: Rebecca Lazar, Cat Main, Camera: Parsa Mayahi, Sam Shastri, Performer(s): Alain Tahir, Bonnie Duff, Kirsten Kraemer, Shannon Poole, Abbey Schwartz, David Lundmark, Erin Purghart, Genevieve Guimond, Holly Collis Handford, Aoife McDavis, Chantal Dobles Gering, Charmaine Sibanda, Kyle Oliver, Digital Team: Nikko Dumrique, Sepand Dyanatkar, Zac Labrie, Ralph Hao, Roshin Kashyap, Emerging Media Lab team: Dante Cerron, Daniel Lindenberger, Jane Diopko, Faculty Advisors: Stephen Heatley, Robert Gardiner, Patrick Rizzotti, Collette Berg, Patrick Pennefather, Staff: Cam Cronin, Lynn Burton, Jodi Jacyk

See full credits here.

Language: English

Registration is Closed

Share This Event