Sun, Mar 28 | Zoom Webinar

Directing In The Age Of Cyber Culture

The digital network is the new stage and algorithms are the new dramaturgical tools. Theatre on the internet is an unbuilt form, a space to test new relational ideas and to explore a new paradigm for human senses, time, and desire.
Registration is Closed
Directing In The Age Of Cyber Culture

Time & Location

Mar 28, 8:30 AM – 9:30 AM EDT
Zoom Webinar

About the Event

Speaker: Amitesh Grover

Location: New Delhi, India

Date: Sunday, March 28th, 18:00 - 19:00 IST | 08:30 am EDT | 05:30 am PDT | 14:30 CEST | 17:00 IRST

Event Access: Re-Connect Zoom Webinar

The digital network is the new stage and algorithms are the new dramaturgical tools. Theatre on the internet is an unbuilt form, a space to test new relational ideas and to explore a new paradigm for human senses, time, and desire. What does directing for the internet mean? How can a director mobilize alterity in the age of images, surveillance, and body-data? How does one work with bodies-in-motion on static screens? To think through these questions, I will use as example my recent cyber-theatre show - The Last Poet. The show features 5 actors and is staged in a 3D Generative World integrated with multiple simultaneous livestreams and interactive features. The experience is unique every time for each audience member taking them through different pathways and narratives via a real-time algorithm. Within these new parameters lies the search for a post-pandemic cyber aesthetic for theatre.

Credits:

Writer Sarah Mariam 

Scenography & Tech Design Ajaibghar 

Film Annette Jacob 

Creative Tech Praveen Sinha & Gagandeep Singh 

 Sound Suvani Suri & Abhishek Mathur 

Assistant Direction Pankhuri Zaheer 

Performers Atul Kumar, Ashwath Bhatt, Bhagyashree Tarke, Pallav Singh, Dipti Mahadev 

Concept & Direction Amitesh Grover

(This project is commissioned by Serendipity Arts Foundation for SA Virtual)

Language: English

Share This Event