Sat, Mar 27 | Re-Connect Zoom [Talks Room]

The Virtual Paintings: Analogue Representations of Immersion

Joseph DeLappe: In 1996 I created a series of oil paintings depicting people utilizing the first wave of virtual reality technologies. I will detail the progression of this new series of “virtual paintings."
Registration is Closed
The Virtual Paintings: Analogue Representations of Immersion

Time & Location

Mar 27, 10:30 AM – 11:00 AM EDT
Re-Connect Zoom [Talks Room]

About the Event

Speaker: Joseph DeLappe

Date: Saturday, March 27th, 14:30 pm - 15:00 pm UK time | 10:30 am EDT | 15:30 CET | 19:00 IRST 

Event Access: Re-Connect Zoom Lectures/Talks

In 1996 I created a series of oil paintings depicting people utilizing the first wave of virtual reality technologies. I remain fascinated by our eager embrace and adaptation to current interface technologies – VR remains very awkward, isolating, expensive and ungainly to use. In 2018, after acquiring a new set of colorblind correcting glasses, I returned to this subject matter developing a new series of watercolor studies of people in second wave VR – the photographic reference for these works were taken by me at various VR festivals, exhibitions, events, university labs and arcades. I will detail the progression of this new series of “virtual paintings” that continue efforts to capture performative digital moments as analog artifacts describing my motivations and methodologies.

Language: English

Registration is Closed

Share This Event